The Board of Zoning Appeals serves in the capacity of a "judicial branch" of zoning administration. The Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA) is permitted to exercise only three functions by the Ohio Revised Code. These include the hearing of Appeals from an adverse ruling by the Township Zoning Department, variances from a specific requirement of the Howland Township Zoning Resolution, and the issuance of conditional zoning certificates for conditionally permitted land uses.

The Township Board of Zoning Appeals consists of five Howland residents who are appointed by the Township Trustees to staggered five-year terms: Brendan Keating-Chairman (through 2018), Samuel Bluedorn-Vice Chairman (through 2017), Ned Gold (through 2019), Christopher Morrone (through 2021), Patricia Gilmore (through 2020), the alternate is Heidi Mock (through 2018).

Applications for an appeal or to request a variance follow.

(Click for PDF)